Guinness PRO14 Final 2018

Leinster v Munster teams LIVE updates as sides are revealed for PRO14 semi-final at the RDS Arena

The Scarlets beat the Glasgow Warriors 28-13 in their Pro14 semi-final in Glasgow on Friday.

The defending champions put on a fine display of attacking rugby, taking their opportunities when it mattered.

The Scarlets led 7-0 early on, thanks to a well-worked self-converted try from flyhalf Rhys Patchell.

A Finn Russell penalty gave the Glasgow Warriors some momentum, but the wind was soon sucked out of their sails as first scrumhalf Gareth Davies and then loosehead prop Rob Evans crossed for breakaway tries to give the Scarlets a 21-3 half-time lead.

The home side received a further blow early in the second half when centre Nick Grigg was yellow-carded for cynical play and from the subsequent penalty, Scarlets hooker Ken Owens crossed from the back of a maul.

The Warriors hit back through tries from lock Jonny Gray, who took a quick tap and powered over the line, and Grigg, who managed to roll over to score.

However, it was not nearly enough as the Scarlets progressed to a second consecutive Pro14 final, where they will face Leinster or Munster.

Glasgow Warriors – Tries: Jonny Gray, Nick Grigg. Penalty: Finn Russell.
Scarlets – Tries: Rhys Patchell, Gareth Davies, Rob Evans, Ken Owens. Conversions: Patchell (4).

Glasgow Warriors – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Nick Grigg, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 DTH van der Merwe, 10 Finn Russell, 9 George Horne, 8 Ryan Wilson (c), 7 Callum Gibbins, 6 Matt Fagerson, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Jamie Bhatti
Subs: 16 George Turner, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Siua Halanukonuka, 19 Rob Harley, 20 Chris Fusaro, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Peter Horne, 23 Ruaridh Jackson

Scarlets – 15 Johnny McNicholl, 14 Tom Prydie, 13 Scott Williams, 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Rhys Patchell, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 John Barclay 7 James Davies, 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Steve Cummins, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ken Owens (c), 1 Rob Evans.
Subs: 16 Ryan Elias, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 Lewis Rawlins, 20 Will Boyde, 21 Jonathan Evans, 22 Dan Jones, 23 Steff Hughes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *